Singing for Happiness

Workshops: Sat 22 Feb, 29 Feb, 7 Mar & 21 Mar, 10.30am-12.30pm | Choir Showcase (optional): Sat 28 Mar, 6.30-8pm

Free, 16yrs+, please book, no experience necessary

Email: [javascript protected email address]

Telephone: 01529 308 710

Book Now

Singing has been proven to be good for our health, especially our mental wellbeing. So, as part of our arts & health season we're delighted to announce the launch of a new series of singing for happiness workshops that will culminate in a choir showcase on Sat 28 March.

As well as being a great way to meet and engage with other like-minded people for a common goal, singing has also been shown to improve posture, breathing, maintaining a healthy immune system, relieve muscle tension and also acts as an effective form of pain relief.

Why not join us for our singing for happiness programme where the sessions include:

Sat 22 Feb - ‘Come and Sing’ - An introduction to singing. Basic techniques and learning to start building confidence. For beginners

Sat 29 Feb - ‘Choir in a Day’ - Learning how to be part of a choir with an introduction to singing in harmony

Sat 7 Mar - ‘It’s Your Voice’ - Working on more confidence building exercises and looking into vocal health and looking after your voice

Sat 21 Mar - ‘Sing Your Heart Out’ - Community singing as part of mental health recovery. 

Sat 28 Mar - 'Take Note' Choir Showcase - The sessions will culminate in a choir showcase on Sat 28 March, although taking part in the showcase or any of the sessions is completely optional.

Activity

Sat 8 Feb, Thu 20 Feb & Sat 7 Mar, 11am-2pm

Mindful Stitch with the Sleaford Embroiderers

Free, drop-in sessions, everyone welcome

Workshop

Sun 8 Mar 10.15am-3.15pm

Life Drawing with Martyn Blundell

£30, 16yrs+, paper provided, basic materials are provided, or feel free to bring your own if you prefer

Workshop

Sat 14 Mar 2020, 2–4pm

Human Library Workshop

Free, everyone welcome, drop-in session